Reviews

Some of the reviews of Langton House, click below to go to an independent review site:-

Rick Steves, the famous American travel writer and presenter – stayed at Langton House in August 2010

Rick Steves

Rick Steves American travel writer

Langton House gets a mention in a Cleveland, Ohio newspaper
http://www.cleveland.com/travel/index.ssf/2012/03/day_trips_from_london_paris_gr.html

Day trips from London: Paris, Greenwich and Windsor, to name just a few
Published: Sunday, March 18, 2012, 7:08 AM
Susan Glaser, The Plain Dealer By Susan Glaser, The Plain Dealer

Windsor

What more could you what from your stay ? – Paul extremely friendly; food excellent and room good size and clean. Langton was only 10 minute walk from Windsor centre.
Great value for money !! Terry P July 2012

We were very comfortable at Langton House; your facilities are excellent. Breakfast was great and I wish more guesthouses/B&B’s provided a little kitchen like yours which is perfect for longer stays. Thank you.
Kind regards Olwen – Stayed May 2012

We spent our last day in England in Windsor, 20 miles west of London and a logical final stop for our trip because of its proximity to Heathrow Airport, a 15-minute cab ride away.

The town, population 26,000, is dominated by its immense hilltop castle, the oldest and largest occupied royal residence in the world.

Built as a fortress and now a favored weekend retreat for Queen Elizabeth, Windsor is at once imposing, overwhelming and over-the-top opulent. Touring it made me grateful to hail from a land that, at least in theory, refuses to grant such privilege solely based on birth.

We spent hours wandering around the place, and I still felt like I soaked up a tiny fraction of its history. The audio guide helped. We opted for the family-friendly tour, narrated by a chap named Horace, and his pupil Tommy, who provided kid-appropriate commentary as we strolled about. Among their imparted bits of wisdom: How to determine whether the queen is in residence by checking out the flag flying atop the castle tower (she was!).

Horace and Tommy guided us through the lavishly appointed State Apartments, a series of rooms added in the late 17th century and adorned with works by Rubens, Rembrandt and van Dyck; inside exquisite St. George’s Chapel, where King George V and Queen Mary are laid to rest; and around the perimeter of Queen Mary’s Dolls’ House, described as the biggest dollhouse in the world, with a working grand piano and its own set of crown jewels. (“It isn’t really a toy to be played with,” commented Horace, stating the obvious.)

Though the castle lacked any lived-in charm, our guides offered a few anecdotes that made the royal occupants seem a bit more human.

Hidden under the paint on the dining room walls, for example, is evidence of the artwork created by castle staff to keep princesses Margaret and Elizabeth entertained during their months of sequestration during World War II. There was some discussion, too, about the 1992 fire that caused extensive damage to the castle and led to a debate about how best to pay for repairs.

There’s more to Windsor than the castle, of course. The town’s main streets, some closed to cars, are lined with stores and restaurants and filled with shoppers most afternoons. (Travel a block or two downhill from the castle for stores that sell more than T-shirts and tiaras.)

The food in town ranges from modest to high end, and we sampled both: meat pies from Wild Flour Bakery eaten in a rush on our way to the castle, and a leisurely Moroccan feast at Al Fassia later the same day.

Theatre Royal offers a variety of live shows, from “The Diary of Anne Frank” to “Jack in the Beanstalk.” Popular theme park Legoland Windsor, just south of town, reopens for the season this weekend. And preppy Eton College, which counts princes William and Harry among its alumni, is just across the Thames from the castle.

Most visitors to Windsor, though, head back to London after their castle tour. We opted to stay for the night, at the lovely Langton House bed-and-breakfast, a century-old mansion once owned by an employee of Queen Victoria.

Spend a bit of time here and it’s not hard to see why the royal family finds the place so enchanting.

———————————————-

“I was there for two weeks for a business trip. I like such places; a house, a few rooms, home atmosphere, friendly hosts. Almost like at home. And the street is also pretty quiet. When I will go to Windsor again, I will contact them first.” Drazen, Croatia November 2011

Excellent Choice !! 🙂 Langton house: cozy, comfortable and clean. The team is so helpful, the breakfast is very satisfying, and the location is great in terms of its closeness to windsor castle and the shopping places and train station. We were very glad that we chose Langton house for a 2-night stay in Windsor. THANKS 🙂 Dima October 2011

Our recent stay at Langton House was most enjoyable and pleasant. The room was well appointed and comfortable. The lovely en-suite tile and marble bath was very clean and had a great shower. Hosts Paul and Sonja were most accommodating. We are repeat customers and would highly recommend Langton House to others. Dave and Jo, Waukee, IA, USA April 2011

“Dear Paul, It was delightful to meet you on Friday and wanted to simply say how perfect my stay was. I was immediately struck by the spotlessly clean bathroom and bedroom, a very quiet comfortable room, even though it faced the main road. The breakfast was yummy and it’s only a pity that we couldn’t get to chat a little more whilst there, but then again you had your fine kitchen outfit on! I’ll most certainly stay with you again on my next visit to Windsor. Best wishes Robin” October 2010

We were made to feel very welcome during our two night stay at Langton house. The location so close to the town was perfect for us to walk to shops restaurants and the castle. The room was nice with comfortable bed and good hot shower. The breakfast was excellent (we chose full English) and Paul and Sonja made both us and our 22 month old daughter very welcome. Would definitely stay there again if visiting Windsor or Legoland when Maisie a little older. Thanks Natalie

“Great food, daily room service, very clean, very nice in room shower, tea, coffee and biscuits 24 hours, very friendly family, free WiFi, only five minutes walk from the heart of Windsor, no need for a car, very quiet yet centralized, only 12 miles from Heathrow.
This is a lovely English house owned and operated by a lovely couple yet very professional. I am so glad I stayed there and would love to stay again.
If you care about breakfast like I do, then don’t look further, this is the place for excellent English breakfast as well as continental breakfast. I miss my stay already.” M.Saffar

“Paul and Sonja, as ever, thank you for a wonderful visit. We really enjoyed sharing your home and will definitely be back next year. You truly go above and beyond!” The Eyre Family.

“We so enjoyed our stay at your lovely B&B. Wish we could have lingered on …a great central location for trotting about Windsor. What a great job you are doing! Highly recommend you to anyone in the U.S.” – Kelly and Frederick

“Paul and Sonja do a marvelous job–the breakfasts are among the best I have had at B&Bs in the UK. The rooms are attractively appointed with lovely views from the windows; and the beds are also quite comfortable. At times I travel alone and am pleased with the safe environment. On my third stay at the Langton House I was still impressed! ” – Nathalie, California

Visit the Langton House Blog

Comments are closed